Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (spoiler-free)

First and foremost, I would like to thank Date a Book (Hachette Australia) for sending me a copy of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandy Menon. The review is of my own opinion alone just FYI (just like all my reviews). This book was one of my most anticipated read for June and I really looked forward it. Unfortunately I was utterly disappointed. This book has left me conflicted and I truly wished I enjoyed it more. I really did.

Look, I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either. I know that a lot of people out there absolutely love this book – but to me, meh – it just wasn’t my thing. But please, in no way I am discouraging anyone from reading this book – I’m just pointing out the things which I personally discovered and wish to share my experience with you.

Synopsis:

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️
Publication Date: May 30 2017
Publisher: Hodder (Hachette Australia)
RRP: $16.99 AUD
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

To be brutally honest, I was so so close to DNFing this book (coming from someone who has never DNFed a book in her life this is saying something) And this is because of many reasons, which I’ll discuss as the review goes on. Most of the characters were annoying to read (maybe except Rishi), and omg I had trouble from restraining myself from throwing the book across the room. [I was just that pissed] Just thinking about certain elements and scenes makes me want to drop the rating to one star (but then again I do have a heart so I’ll stick to two).

I had major problems with Dimple, the main character. She literally complained about everything in her way, how shitty everything was, and how her life was worse than everyone else’s and how she hates her parents for caring too much about her. I mean like: CHILL mate, there are starving kids in India with no parents or relatives, and here you are in America, you have loving parents, you are very well off compared to millions of people. [She is a high school graduate for Pete’s sake, we honestly need to teach people especially teens to start APPRECIATING what they HAVE!]

Nevertheless, there were several bits of the book that I enjoyed: especially the part about the anime and comic expo which blew me away. It was nerdy, funny and heart-warming. I also like the way it ended. Furthermore, I particularly enjoyed learning about the Indian culture as I have been looking out for more books like that. WE NEED MORE DIVERSE CULTURE REPS IN BOOKS! There were some cute parts here and there too but yeah that’s literally it about the good parts.

Okay, now I move forward to the parts that pissed me off. [There are no spoilers but read at your own risk because of my unpopular opinion]

Dimple was so rude to a lot of people – especially those who she dubbed “white, rich and dumb”(?). She was an unpleasant human being to basically the general population. I swear she mutters the phrase “dumb rich people” to herself in literally every chapter, not even kidding. I mean not all rich people can be generalised like that, it’s just not right. [I know some rich people who are so darn nice!]

ALSO, Dimple practically praised this Tech Developer named Jenny as a divine being of some sort and c’mon, she’s famous, and also rich af, but she’s on the opposite spectrum of dumb. Like bro, Dimple was contradicting herself this whole time? *ugh* Anyways, generalisation as such is a NO GO for me. I found one or two aspects which I can empathise with her, but that’s it. She complains about her parents wanting her to look nice – and she just flat-out said NO. I mean I personally don’t wear make up, I won’t make myself look like complete trash at some community gathering? I would at least try and look pleasant – ESPECIALLY id it pleases my parents. Dimple was selfish, and appreciated no one (may be just her dad – a little bit – for paying the bills).

There were quite a few plot holes (more than my limit) as well. She was supposed to work on this app of her dream, she babbled on how it’s going to save lives and stuff, but most of the jargon she talked about had nothing to do with the app?? Hello? You still there? And there’s so much kissing and UGH, why not work on the stupid app while you’re at it? She said herself that career is the most important thing to her and why spend half of that time making out with people? [I can’t understand hypocrites]

Again, can someone tell me why there were so many unecessary make-out sessions? Like they know for sure at the start that they’re not gonna be a thing, why do it? You know each other for less than a month? And why did Dimple [girl wanting to win the competition] waste her precious time when she could have used it to improve the app? It just makes reading it so awkward and *cringes* ugh, sorry I can’t deal.

Oh and the word “tongue” was way overused. [I’m currently reading This Savage Song and I’m so glad because there’s no romance thank God.] The development of their relationship was just so weird. I love an unconventional couple, but THIS was just straight out weird and meh *stay clear*.

I ALSO wanted to stab everyone. Maybe except Rishi, our “future engineering student who also loves art”. Although he low-key pissed me off at times, he’s mostly alright, and I love how he adored his culture and respected girls. EXCEPT when he whined too much and be OH SO DRAMATIC sometimes. It was unnecessary to make everyone (those who aren’t Indian) sound dumb – like it’s triggering for me. I am Asian, and NO – not all Asians are smart. [I’ve had enough of this crap]

ALSO, this part would piss any sensible reader off:

“She set her book carefully down, dog-earing a corner of her page with love.”

WTF is wrong with this book? And how did the editors miss this? I was shocked to the point I scared the shit out of my temporary housemate. It’s morally not right to dog-ear a book. And what’s with the “with love” bit? Like mate it doesn’t work that way. STAHP.

(I’m just sad and pissed at myself for not liking this book. I didn’t proof read this so sorry for the typos.)

BUT HEY I AM JUST GLAD THIS BOOK IS OVER. I AM SO SALTY ABOUT THIS BOOK AND UGH. I AM SO MAD. I AM SO DONE. BYE

[Wing-yee’s out.]

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 6.09.03 pm


I’m a Book Depository Affiliate! Get Free Shipping on ALL BOOKS Everywhere!


© Bibliophilic Med Student 2017. All Rights Reserved. Please do not use without permission. All opinions are my own and you can find me on Bookstagram @bibliomeds. You can also follow me on Goodreads

12 thoughts on “Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (spoiler-free)

  1. I TOTALLY agree with your review. I was so excited for this book! Because it was highly rated on Goodreads and everyone was raving about it, I expected soooo much more.

    I was frustrated while reading it and I was so pissed at every character haha. How the app was her focus at the beginning and then the author just skipped the part where they actually work on it… The writing also annoyed me a bit, especially all the occurrences of “Urghhh” and “Dimpllllle”…

    Anywayyyy, just so happy to be able to rant about this, and to know I’m not alone in this haha! Thnks for this honest review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading my review! Same! The hype made my expectations very high! You are never alone! OMG I was so mad while reading it lol – so I totally get where you’re coming from and I’m with you!

      How it got such great reviews on Goodreads is a mystery to me haha. I simply wanted to throw bricks (I need to calm down omg)! Please! Feel free to rant! Even DM me on insta! 🙂 Always up for a chat!

      Like

  2. Dog-eared lovingly?!?!? Omg why? WDMR is not usually the genre I go for but I’d heard such good things I was considering it so thank you for you review. It’s saved me time I can spend on a V.E. Schwab book instead. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s crazy right?? I was really looking forward to this book too so it’s a shame that I didn’t like it. In no way I want to discourage anyone to read WDMR – but YASS if I’m in your shoes I would definitely get a Schwab book instead – 100%! 😀 And thank you so much for reading my review! Happy Reading in the mean time! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: June Wrap-Up
  4. Wonderfully written review! I definitely agree with you about Dimple – she was in no way shape or form a likable character. She was rude, selfish and wayyy too aggressive, she like punched Rishi allll the time!
    I really liked the writers style and the humor but the stereotypes and how quickly Dimple and Rishi fell in love was a bit overbearing and altogether cliché.
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading! OMG thank you for getting me, and yes – your points exactly! girls that put down/purposely hurt/punch boys to make themselves feel better is WRONG. (the cliche was uuuuugh *eye roll*) I’m glad you enjoyed my review! Happy Reading to you too! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

