Book Tag: Rapid Fire

Hey Heyyyyy!

I’m back! I finally finished all my exams (and I am praying that I did alright because I SIMPLY WANNA PASS). Anyways, putting the boring stuff aside, I’m going to do this AWSEOME tag which I found on theBookishLouge (the tag was originally made on a booktube which can be found on here)

Let’s get on with it!

1. E-book or Physical Book?

Physical book all the way. I want to be able to pat the book and to physically feel and smell it. I love the smell of books, yeah I’m weird. And I mean you can put it on the shelf and stare at it lovingly, how good is that?

2. Paperback or Hardback?

As much as I love hardbacks, my bank balance won’t allow it – so I am very happy with my floppy paperbacks. It’s light to carry and easy on the hand when reading in public.

3. Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

Online book shopping. Let’s be honest, who doesn’t like a better deal? (In my case, I NEED a better deal otherwise I can’t afford it). I also love going into bookstores to check out different versions before making a purchase online. (Trust me, I do want to buy books from local bookstore – support local business and stuff – but I need that money for my next lunch I am sorry.)

IMG_1134

4. Trilogies or Series?

This is hard. It really depends on whether I want more of the story or not.  But I gotta say series, because most of my favourite books are in series so… (e.g. The Raven Cycle, The Mortal Instruments and Harry Potter). You can never have enough of a story if you love it so much. (The Infernal Devices is a different story though, because it’s perfect. Full-stop.)

5. Heroes or Villains?

Heroes. Especially heroes with flaws. Characters who are too perfect tend to scare me  a bit. I do love a couple of villains, but my love for heroes is still greater.

6. A Book You Want Everyone to Read?

17675462

Duh. Of course it’s gonna be The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I know that this book (and series) isn’t for everyone, because the plot might be considered too slow for most people. But for me, the thing I love most about The Raven Cycle are the characters, and the unique blend of personalities and relationships. I’ll include this tumblr post just so you know what I’m on about:

154896c15b6158f31e7e8a1a95d81faf

7. Recommend an Underrated Author?

Krystal Sutherland. She’s a YA author from my town, and her debut novel Our Chemical Hearts deserves much more attention!

8. Last Book You Finished?

The Crown’s Fate by Evelyne Skye. [5 stars].

9. Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

My tube of Aēsop hand cream. I think.

10. Used Books: Yes or No?

Yes! Used books deserve the same love too! I do like my books new but I would not say no to a book just because it’s second handed/ used.

11. Top Three Favourite Genres?

Fantasy. Magical Realism. Sci-fi.

12. Borrow or Buy?

I prefer to buy if I know for sure that I’ll like it. But if I’m not sure, I’ll borrow it first.

IMG_1122

13. Character or Plot?

Ooooh … this is a bit difficult. I like books that have a balance of both. But if I’m to choose between a “bland plot with vivid characters” or “vivid plot with bland characters” – I’ll definitely go with characters! (I need them sassy banter and funny dialogues!)

14. Long or Short Books?

Long. I can never complain about a GOOD book being too long. I always want more (only if the book is good though). Finishing a big book gives me a great sense of accomplishment and it just makes me feel great. Anyone else with me?

15. Name The First Three Books You Think of?

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  • Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

16. Books That Make You Cry or Laugh?

Laugh. I don’t need anymore sadness after finishing Lord of Shadows (thanks very much Cassie).

17. Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Fictional worlds. Do I really have to explain this?

124c5f7d883f46843ce78a1f0f11f436

18. Audiobooks: Yes or No?

I’ve never used audiobooks. I don’t own any either so… I can’t say. But I would love to give it a try tho!

19. Do You Ever Judge a Book by Its Cover?

Yes I do, 70% of the time. (I’m working on this.) I also find that pretty covers grab my attention more when I’m browsing in bookstores and libraries. But when browsing online – not as much.

20. Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

To be absolutely honest: I think books should stay as books. From my experience, the movie often lack some ‘important’ content, and the TV shows sometimes add in too much new stuff. (Cassie Clare fans you would know what I’m on about.). But if I HAVE to choose one, I’ll choose book to movie, because it’s quicker to watch (and perhaps quicker to get over with if it’s bad).

21. A Movie or TV Show You Preferred to its Book?

The book is always better in my opinion. Because everyone pictures certain books, scenes and characters in a different way. You simple can’t please everyone. But if I have to pick one, I would say I quite enjoyed the Mockingjay movie from The Hunger Games franchise. (Are there any book adaptations you liked better than the book itself? Comment below because I would LOVE to know!)

22. Series or Standalones?

Series. Same reason as number 4.

tumblr_mfdjvtjh7F1remr5vo1_r1_500

There we have it! I’m sorry that this post is a bit long. But if you’ve made it this far – congrats! Thanks for reading! And if you want to do this tag, you have been tagged by me! xx

 

Leave a Reply

