Book Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas (spoiler-free)

23766634

Today I’ll be reviewing perhaps one of the BIGGEST release of 2017 – A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. A massive thank you to Bloomsbury for sending me an ARC of ACOWAR and a beautiful A Court of Thorns and Roses Colouring book. This review is spoiler-free for ACOWAR, needless to say it will contain spoilers for ACOTAR (book 1) and ACOMAF (book 2). I have to say this is on my top 5 most anticipated release of 2017 – and it did not disappoint. But again, it’s Sarah J. Maas guys, it’s quite hard to be truly disappointed when she blessed the world with Rhysand, right?

Synopsis:

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Rosesseries.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places. 

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all. 

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Publication Date: May 2 2017
RRP: $17.99 AUD

I devoured this book on a cloudy Sunday where I simply ditched all my responsibilities as a uni student and read and read until I had to eat. I enjoyed every single moment of this book – but upon finishing it, I notice there was something (more like a ‘chunk’ of stuff) is missing. Don’t get me wrong, it’s probably seen as a good thing by others but still, I wish there was more. (But let’s be honest, who doesn’t want more of the Inner Circle?)

My ACOWAR experience was tremendously emotional, it was a brilliantly written book. Sarah really did outdo herself in her intricate world-building along with some very exciting character development and introductions. I think most of us have extremely extremely high expectations on ACOWAR after SJM totally slayed us all in ACOMAF, which is normal I’m sure. But there was simply so much (too much? I’m not sure) that I wanted to see character-wise, I honestly wouldn’t think it’s possible for the editors to make it an even longer book (not that I will complain though).

Story wise, (oh man), was pure gold. I was both frustrated and ecstatic at almost every twists and turns and I slammed doors, face-palmed, yelled at walls (you named it) too many times to count so believe me, this book was very satisfying and gave me LOTS of feels. Please prepare yourself. Character arcs are absolutely fantastic although I do feel after finishing the book that a few characters can still be improved.

One of the best thing about ACOWAR is we finally get to meet other High Lords and see other Prythian Courts. I’m just gonna tell you that the whole experience was incredible.

I also would like to address some of the controversy that arise from the book – more like from the people to be honest. SJM does get a lot of crap from not having enough diversity in her books and I understand that. But for me, I think it’s completely up to the author at how she/he wants her/his world to be portrayed and people should not force any authors to write diversely (or boycott authors who don’t write diversely) simply because a group of people think those who don’t write diversely is against ‘something’ and as a result authors feel the need to remedy that, even when it’s done forcibly.

SJM definitely makes an attempt in adding more diversity into ACOWAR: there are many Courts with members having dark skin, Illyrians are outright described as having sun-kissed brown skin tones. (*dreamily thinks about Cassian and Azriel*) So yeah, if you’re unsure if you want to read ACOWAR based on the controversies you’ve heard or are concern/ sensitive about some issues, please shoot me a DM on Instagram (@bibliomeds) and I’ll do my best to help.

BUT GUYS this is it!!! I can’t say much more because it’s honestly so hard to write a spoiler-free for ACOWAR when you’re simply trying to hold in all your feels inside and try not to self-combust. Have you read ACOWAR yet? If you have, what do you think? PLEASE keep the comments section spoiler-free!

For those who are yet to read it – GO GO GO and READ IT NOW!!! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Happy Reading my lovelies!

xx

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas (spoiler-free)

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

