Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

9780316273497

Heyo bookworms! Today I’ll be doing a review for Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco which was an epic release from 2016. Thank you to Hachette Books Australia for sending my a review copy! (You guys are the best!) Without further ado, let’s get on with it.

Synopsis:

In this spine-chilling gothic murder mystery set in gritty Victorian-era London, an intrepid society girl finds herself inescapably embroiled in the investigation of a ghastly serial killer known as Jack the Ripper.

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

The story’s shocking twists and turns, augmented with real, sinister period photos, will make this dazzling debut from author Kerri Maniscalco impossible to forget.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Publication Date:
 Oct 11 2016
RRP: $32.99 AUD

Ok, let me tell you, when I first picked it up this book, everything just instantly clicked. It’s set in the Victorian era, it’s got medical science, it’s got a beautiful and witty female protagonist AND quite a bit of swoon-worthy romance – I can’t ask for more can I?

The story begins with Audrey-Rose helping her uncle in his underground laboratory, dealing with all kinds of gruesome procedures that no girl, in the society at that time, should set her eyes upon. But for Audrey-Rose’s case? She loves it. She gives zero crap about those who says otherwise. Being a female medical student myself, I understand first-hand that the issue of gender inequality is still present today. So I thank Kerri for portraying a main female character who has such strong drive, dedication and shows immense passion towards the field of forensic medicine. It’s truly remarkable to read.

I love many things about this book! The plot, the characters, the setting and the writing. The start was a tiny bit slow. But as I read on, the plot thickens and it was simply so unpredictable! When I first read the blurb of the book, I was like, “Oh it has to be this guy blah blah blah”, and in the middle of the book I was thrown back a bit and I decided it was the other guy. Well, I got that wrong too, and I eventually decided to stop guessing and then BAM!!! It hit me so unexpectedly – and I was nowhere prepared for it. It was THAT epic.

The author created a London that I dream about and love. The world of Stalking Jack the Ripper was described so vividly that I can literally feel the smoke, rain and fogginess (all the way in Australia) on my skin. It can be seen clearly in Kerri’s writing that she did her research thoroughly when it comes to the history of England, people’s dialogue/tone and clothing choices in that time. Thanks to this book, I’ve been on the hunt to similar genre.

I love the main as well as side characters of this novel. Thomas Cresswell is such a darling, also a tease, but ultimately he’s a smart and sweet cinnamon roll (he must be protected at all cost). I became quite fond of his charisma (and I need more). Thomas was initially shown to be a bit cocky, but reading about him was actually quite hilarious. And later on, even though he keeps on being a huge tease, he also became protective and respectful to Audrey-Rose. *ah swoon*. The romance oh my lord, is simply too good, I had to re-read them good scenes a couple of times so they sink in. I definitely recommend this novel if you’re into some Sherlock-Watson-type-crime-solving and with adorable romance.

The writing has a very nice flow and is very easy to keep up with, despite the fact there’s quite a lot of movement in between places. (I actually would love to get my hands on a bookish map of this book, no kidding.) The vocabulary is extensive and the author did an excellent job in creating the tone that the people of that time would use – and actually write it and construct it a way that it’s also easy to understand in today’s time. Bravo to that.

If you are looking for a book with a smart heroine who loves science, crime-solving and adorable romance set in Victorian London — this is the ONE for you! I highly recommend it to y’all! The sequel of this book Hunting Prince Dracula also comes out in this year’s Fall – and believe me – it’s looking really good! So make sure you pick up book one soon, so you can join me in anticipating the book 2!!!

Hope you enjoy my review! Happy Reading xx

Leave a Reply

