Review: Frostblood by Elly Blake (spoiler-free)

After seeing many amazing posts about the highly anticipated fantasy novel Frostblood by Elly Blake, I knew this was the book for me. I would like to thank Hachette Books for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review. This was my first 5 star read of year and I’m so excited to share my thoughts with you.

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating—yet irresistible—Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her—and from the icy young man she has come to love. 

img_7569

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really really enjoyed Blake’s writing, it is not overly fluffed out, but with the perfect amount of details and dialogues. I fell in love with the characters as they are so beautifully crafted and individually represented. Ruby, the protagonist, is a headstrong girl with a passionate heart, making it super easy to empathise with her, and to like her.

The way Blake describes the power of Frostblood and Fireblood is so vivid, it’s like I can feel the chill and burn whenever the powers are lashed out. There are only two kinds of powers in this world which makes things much easier to keep track compared to Red Queen‘s Silver powers (I don’t even know how many there are tbh). I personally really love the contrast of Fire and Frost, because people often juxtapose Fire and Water as elements, but Fire and Frost can’t technically put each other out completely like the latter.

One of the best thing about this novel is the reasonable pace which the story follows. I often see novels where SO MANY things happen in a much-too-short timeframe, although it might work for some (i.e. Nicola Yoon), it doesn’t work for every one. The medium pace of Frostblood helps to build tension which drives the plot and allows character growth. I also particularly enjoyed the initial trainer-trainee relationship shared between Ruby and Arcus: the witty remarks, the bickering and grudges, I simply love those light-hearted scenes (I mean I live for that stuff). This book also has its own original myths and legends, which makes reading this even more pleasurable.

If you’re thinking about whether there’s romance in this, yes there is. I really really loved the romance. There’s even the ABSOLUTELY PERFECT song for it: Still Falling For You by Elle Goulding (after you’ve read it you would thank me for this). Okay, so I might have just made this book sound cheesy and cliche, trust me it’s not.

I’m so pumped for the sequel Fireblood already! (It will be released on September 7 this year)

So here you go! My review for my first 5 star read. Hope you have a good one today!

Until next time! xx

2 thoughts on “Review: Frostblood by Elly Blake (spoiler-free)

Leave a Reply

