Book Review: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard (spoiler-free)

Hello bookworms! February is here which means……… the release of one of the most anticipated books of 2017 and the third instalment of the Red Queen series – King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard! Thank you so much to Hachette Books for sending me a copy! Ok, for those who have NOT, I repeat, if you have NOT read the first two books of the Red Queen books, I encourage you to not read this review, because this review is only “spoiler-free” of book 3 itself – not the series. (It’ll be impossible to write one without mentioning what happens in the books before). Okay, without further ado, let’s get started!!!

Synopsis:

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire —leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

img_7413

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Once again, please don’t continue if you haven’t read up to Glass Sword!!! (only read if you want to be spoiled!)

Last chance!

~

As we know that Glass Sword left pretty much ALL OF US wounded – like I mean who wouldn’t be with that killer cliffhanger? It definitely did serious damage to me. I was legit dying for book 3 after that last line of the novel.

King’s Cage started off quite slowly (maybe it’s just me? I don’t know). But I think the entire book could be shorten a lot more (at the first half) because the real actions don’t really kick in until then. But fortunately, readers do get a pretty good insight on what is happening on BOTH side of the plot with its intricate details.

That’s right – we have multiple POVs! One being Mare’s and two other ones which I thoroughly enjoy (not gonna tell you who since that’ll spoil the fun). I actually like reading those other POVs compared to Mare’s, because you get a wider picture of the things that are going on AND they are so thrilling to read!

The attempt of world building (or expanding?) is done reasonably well and other nations will also make their first appearance in the book (as we know the Reds and Silvers of Norta have been fighting a long war with the Lakelanders). And you get to read lots more about that and are given the chance to unravel Norta’s mysterious history and connections with other nations. Be prepared though for HUGE things that will happen regarding to alliances and the war/conflict side of things – I was so surprised at some parts!

And regarding to ships and teams and the romance side of things. I was hoping (low key praying) that Maven will attempt to perhaps redeem himself? A tiny bit? Or just do absolutely anything about his messed up feelings/attitude/mind towards freaking EVERYTHING. Thankfully, you do get to see Maven doing some ‘trying’ in the novel – although some parts did frustrate me (a lot) as well as made me feel that he’s not completely beyond saving – so I’m gonna leave it at that. For those rooting for Cal, the exiled price, you guys are going to flip when you gets your hands on this book – ahhhhhh the feels.

This novel was a borderline between 4 and 3 stars, I had such a hard time choosing sides. I even had to postponed my Goodreads status update after I finished it hours ago (lol there goes my OCD) just so I can make up my mind on things. I think that if there’s more action at the start, it would have made it 4 stars.

But overall, it was a good read. VERY GLAD that it doesn’t end on an awful cliffhanger like the one in Glass Sword. *Phew*. Thank you once again to Hachette Books for providing me a copy!

Until next time! xx

4 thoughts on “Book Review: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard (spoiler-free)

Leave a Reply

