January Wrap-Up

Hello lovelies! Can you believe we’re already one month into 2017? How many books did you read? I managed to read 5 books this month.

img_7342

First I finished The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon, which I started buddy reading with Alex from @pagesinbetween in late December. I was expecting a really good plot and it surely delivered the goods! The world building was like ‘in-your-face’ good – it isn’t like anything I’ve read in this genre. I sort of wished that I realised there was a GLOSSARY at the back of the book BEFORE I reached the last page of the story. I just ordered The Mime Order (aka book 2 of this series) online and damn I’m excited to read it! [4 stars]

~

Second, I read Holding Smoke by Elle Cosimano. I sort of didn’t want to read it but after staring at it sitting on my shelf – I simply gave in and picked it up. It’s about this teen being accused of murdering people and got thrown into a juvenile detention centre. AND he has this ability to ‘float’ out of his physical body and cam roam around on the street. So I kind-of didn’t want to keep reading because look, I’ve just finished The Bone Season and let’s be honest – ‘floating’ around out of your physical form isn’t exactly safe – if you’ve read The Bone Season you would know what I’m on about. But I did finish it because I’m the type of gal who insist on never leaving something unfinished (if it can be finished). And I did not expect the ending at all! So it was actually quite thrilling as I reach around the middle. [3 stars]

~

The third book I read is Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. I really enjoyed this book as I devoured it in one sitting. It’s light-hearted, funny and the format of the book is something I really enjoyed. It was a quick read because I simply couldn’t put it down (I even missed my night-time coffee to continue reading.) I recommend this book to you all! I also wrote a full-length review on this book so do check it out if you want to find out more! [4 stars]

img_6852

The next one I read is titled Love, Lies and Spies by Cindy Anstey. GUYS! This is such a heartwarming read! Looking for a historical, coming-of-age story set in the Victorian time? This is one for you! Juliana, our heroine, has a great heart and is simply so passionate about her work; and Spencer, our handsome blue-eyed, dark-hair gentleman – who is ALSO extremely dedicated to his work. This book is written in dual perspectives and believe me – it’s pretty good! [4 stars]

~

GUYS!!! During my week of travel, I brought 3 books with me, and I only managed to finish one throughout my entire 3-week trip. And you guessed it – The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. *Place both palms over chest and dramatically closes eyes for 5 seconds*. I LOVE LOVE LOVE The Raven Cycle series to Jupiter and back. Like if you’re looking for reasons to start/finish this series – I’ve written a post JUST to persuade you to read book 1! Definitely check it out if you’re even slightly interested! [100+stars]

img_7308

The Final book I’ve managed to finished was another book by Nicola Yoon – The Sun is Also a Star. This book is really fast-paced, TOO MUCH happens and yet the author managed to pull it so well together and weaved all the bits and pieces in perfectly. I think that if more people read this book – one about illegal immigration into another country, about suffering an identity crisis over oneself, and about the issue of racism and its impact to many – the world will probably be a kinder place. Like honestly, whenever I watch the news, it’s about something mentioned above – and it’s chaotic. I definitely consider this a worthy read! It taught me a few things and got me to reflect on the concept of fate (I am a huge sucker for books about that), and science (I am doing a 6 year degree based on science so I of course am interested in that too ahaha). If you haven’t read it – I hope you will!

~

I’ve started Caraval by Stephanie Garber yesterday and I’m already half-way in! It has got me hooked completely so do look out for a review coming your way soon! Have you read any of the books I mentioned above? If so, what did you think of them? I’d love to hear what you think! In the meantime, Happy Reading!!!

xx

 

Leave a Reply

