Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Soon (spoiler free)

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon is a cute, unique and flowing story which I thoroughly enjoyed. And for the first time in a while – I finished this book in one sitting.

Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

img_6846

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Everything Everything is a sweet, adorable one-of-a-kind novel about a sick teen girl being approached by the handsome-boy-next-door. Maddy, our main girl, is a hardcore reader and I simply love reading about a character talking about books. And the character interaction and tension builds up in a pace that I liked – not too quick and not too slow.

The storyline is smooth and the character development is done reasonably well. One element I enjoyed particularly was being able to witness the growth of the main character – as this is something I found really appealing in YA books. It was a good read – however it wasn’t “amazing” enough for me to give it any more than 4 stars. Because some parts I really enjoyed – particularly the pages with detailed illustrations and funny edits; but some parts (only some) – I found the expression and the writing a bit exaggerated.

This book does have some insta-love, but hey it happens! It’s okay! (This is not a spoiler in any way because it’s basically spelled in bold capital letters on the blurb). I usually don’t dive straight in for insta-love books on my TBR since not every author can pull that stuff off – but thankfully, Nicola has made it work wonderfully.

This book made me all warm and fuzzy as I read it, and I wish it was longer so I can get more of the characters at the end! The ending is really good and I’m glad how the story unfolds and the reader get bits and pieces and it all fits together nicely at the end. I also heard that Everything Everything is being made into a movie! That’s another reason why you should read it!

Hope you enjoy my short review! Feel free to comment, like and I’ll be back next week! 🙂

One thought on “Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Soon (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

