Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

To begin my review, (more like releasing my feels by writing it out) I want to make 3 confessions:

Confession no. 1: I have never read any books by Colleen Hoover until November 9.
Confession no. 2: I haven’t managed to finish a book in one sitting until November 9.
And lastly, no. 3: I really want to fall in love after finishing November 9 (doubt it’ll happen but one can always dream).

Synopsis:

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

img_6601

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

November 9 was a truly wonderful read. Beautiful yet twisted plot. So brilliantly written. And SO REAL. For those who have never read Colleen’s work, it might seem like “oh it’s just another cheesy over-the-top romance novel”. For some – it could be and that’s okay. But for me – this book digs far more deeper from that. It practically opened up my soul.

I am a hardcore fantasy reader. And I usually don’t pick up romantic contemporaries UNLESS I personally really want to or it’s recommended by others. I had pretty high expectations for this book.

Our main character Fallon likes to read romance novels. And our guy Ben, is on his journey in writing his first novel. Therefore it was really fun to read characters talking about books, a very clever idea in my opinion. Like a book within THE book.

I didn’t know what to expect from the book initially – other than the fact that everyone I know seems to love this book and were begging me to read it- so I just had to pick it up. I’m surely glad I did.

Colleen’s style was extremely pleasing to read, so funny, so cute and so deep altogether. There were a few controversial issues discussed in the book, I was a bit shocked at first. But as I read on, I realised it was very smartly laid out and everything just gel together. I actually learned quite a few things myself (not many books do that to me).

Real life is a funny thing. So is love, fate and destiny. This book made me think and reflect and really talk to myself about what I want to do with my life. There are several parts where I was very emotional, some parts I want to pat myself at the back. And some parts, it just makes me want to get out there and take a shot at things I never think I could do.

I am so glad that I decided to pick up this book before the end of 2016. I will definitely recommend this book to those who want an epic love story, with laughter, tears and thundering hearts.

Until next time book nerds! Get keen for 2017 and Happy Reading! xxx

4 thoughts on “Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

      1. Ah no worries ☺️ I actually just finished another one of her books (Maybe Someday) the other day and I really liked it! But I’d have to say my favourite is It Ends With Us, so I hope you get a chance to read it in the near future!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

