Review: Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy

It’s amazing to be back in the Shadowhunter world! I’ve missed it so dearly that I nearly cried when I first started the book! This review contains very mild spoilers as I would assume people have read The Mortal Instruments before even thinking about reading this. Hope you enjoy! (The synopsis below gives heaps of it away anyways)

Synopsis:

Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. But the events of City of Heavenly Fireleft him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. He knows he was friends with Clary, and that he convinced the total goddess Isabelle Lightwood to go out with him…but he doesn’t know how. And when Clary and Isabelle look at him, expecting him to be a man he doesn’t remember…Simon can’t take it.

So when the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. His new self. Whomever this new Simon might be.

But the Academy is a Shadowhunter institution, which means it has some problems. Like the fact that non-Shadowhunter students have to live in the basement. And that differences—like being a former vampire—are greatly looked down upon. At least Simon is trained in weaponry—even if it’s only from hours of playing D&D.

Join Simon on his journey to become a Shadowhunter, and learn about the Academy’s illustrious history along the way, through guest lecturers such as Jace Herondale, Tessa Gray, and Magnus Bane. These ten short stories give an epilogue to the Mortal Instruments series and provide glimpses of what’s in store in the Dark Artifices. 

img_5740

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

WOW! Cassie Clare you’ve outdone yourself again!!!!!! I have been waiting for this book to come in the mail for AGES!!! It was such a wonderful read – curtesy to Clare’s brilliant writing and Simon Lewis, c’mon it’s ALWAYS SIMON LEWIS – my favourite Star Wars and Dungeons and Dragons ex-undead nerd!!!!

As suggested in the Synopsis, the book features 10 stories that took place between the Dark War and The Dark Artifices series. Each and every one of them sheds light on the life and hilarious encounters of Simon Lewis as he makes his journey to become a Shadowhunter. And to get his memories back.

I was delighted to catch up with old characters from The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices (okay I shouldn’t say this but I think it’s necessary: I learnt from reading this that family outings arranged by Tessa and Will Herondale involved in taking their kids to the bookstore. Thaaaat’s right. You’re welcome 😉 Anyways it was so good to see them all! And JEM!!

And OH MY GOODNESS – I got to meet the characters from The Last Hours series!!!!! Which will be based on the next generation of Shadowhunters after those in The Infernal Devices. I got to meet James Herondale and Matthew Fairchild and so so many more! *internally screaming because I want The Last Hours series now* If you’re not the biggest fan of The Mortal Instruments but LOVE the Infernal Devices? This story is for you!

I love Simon Lewis and his narrative was super awesome to read and I often find myself replaying those lines in my head because of how true and funny they sounded. Simon is witty, brave, and is trying everything he can to become the best that he can be and you know what? He’s now become my motivation for university.

CALLING OUT ON ALL MALEC SHIPPERS!!! Please read this book because there’s an awesome surprise for you in store!! And you’re going to LOVE IT!! I was practically trying not to finish the story as I didn’t want it to be finished!!! It only makes me want more of MALEC!!! I won’t say anything more because I want you to read it!!!

I might be bias in my view on Cassie Clare’s books because of how much I love them and how much they (meaning books and characters) mean to me. But this book is a beautiful addition to those who want more of the Shadow World after City of Heavenly Fire. And believe me – you won’t regret it 😉

Although I was initially hesitant on giving it 5 stars because I didn’t particularly enjoy reading one story, SIMON LEWIS DESERVES ALL MY STARS SO THAT’S FINAL!

Really hope you enjoy this book as much as I did!!! x

One thought on “Review: Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy

Leave a Reply

