Review: The Melting Library Candles

If you’ve seen my bookstagram account – you would know that I love bookish candles. So I wanna show you my collection from The FANTABULOUS Melting Library! I’ve ordered 3 times from TML, and Raquel, TML shop owner, never disappoints. Read along if you want to see the candles I’ve got!

Design:

  • 8 oz (full size) = glass jars with glossy gold lib – rectangular label in the form of a “library borrow card” with the scent listed (which I find super cute – and the dates actually have meanings too). Inside it contains a round piece of paper feature a famous quote from the book the candle is inspired from.
  • 2 oz (sample size) = gold metal tins – round label on the top of lid without the scent listed nor the quote.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Candle No. 1 – Fireheart
Scent: Lemon Verbena, Jasmine and Crackling Embers
Quote: “She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.” – Sarah J. Maas

Inspired by Aelin Ashryver Galathynius from the best-selling Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas – this candle blew me away completely the second I removed the lid of it. My first thought was “WOW it’s such an aromatic and ancient smell!”. It’s definitely not your ‘typical lemon tart smell’ with no hints of actual lemon – there are subtle (very subtle) bittersweetness in this TML one (probably it’s the embers bit). The jasmine is definitely there – to balance out the tartness of the lemon. If you are a hardcore ToG fan – get this one!

IMG_5966.JPG

 

Candle No. 2 – A Study in Sherlock
Scent: Mahogany, Leather, Coffee and Pipe Smoke
Quote: “To a great mind, nothing is little.” -Arthur Conan Doyle

One of the best thing I love about this candle – is that it has the power to wake me up. With its strong aroma of coffee and gentle touch of woody smell – it’s a very unique and powerful blend. (Bravo, Raquel, Bravo!). There’s also the genuine smokiness lurking within the smell – completing this fabulous scent (if you are worried about the pipe smoke smell being too strong – I assure you that it’s not – plus it’s a very enjoyable smell along with the coffee!). If you ever want to stay awake during your study session – I’d recommend this one. [A/N: Bought this for my brother]

img_5462

Candle No. 3 – The Restricted Section 
Scent: Leather, Parchments, Dusts and Dark Magic
Quote: “Books! And Cleverness! There are more important things – friendship and bravery.” – J.K. Rowling

This candle is perhaps TML’s best seller! (Might be on par with the Night Court right now). It’s VERY STRONG and little musty – it’s the perfect description of the Hogwarts Library (you have to be a real fan to truly appreciate it). Powerful tones of leather is my favourite part of this candle – imagine siting on the big leather couch while reading about dark magic (or lurking around the restricted section in the middle of the night). Some can find the smell too odd due to how ‘old’ it smells – but I’m all about old book and parchment smell so I can’t be a fair judge on this. I have never lit this candle because the room is already so scented when I leave the lid open 🙂

IMG_5968.JPG

Candle No. 4 – Half Blood Prince
Scent: Powdered Root of Asphodel and an Infusion of Wormwood (aka Lily)
Quote: “After all this time?” “Always.” – J.K. Rowling

Snape is bae okay. I’ll just leave it here. This candle smells divine – high notes of lily and freshness of the meadow. The colour is a gorgeous shade of light emerald green (“You have your mother’s eyes” okay I gotta cry in the corner now bye). This candle is absolute perfection – no fault whatsoever. Solid 10 out of 10.

img_5967

Candle No. 5 – Dirtyhands
Scent: Sea Salt, Leather and Mahogany
Quote: “No Mourners. No Funerals” – Leigh Bardugo

Inspired by criminal mastermind, the bastard of the Barrel and deadliest boy in Ketterdam – Kaz Brekker. Wanna join the Dregs at Ketterdam? Here’s your chance. Transform your surroundings to the Ketterdam Harbour and join Kaz and the crew as they journey up North for their deadly mission – no I ain’t kidding about how authentic this candle smells. The smell again is brilliant and strong – it’s like a rustic beachy and tavern-like smell (aka the Crow Club). I cannot recommend this enough to all the Six of Crows fans!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Candle No. 6 – The Darkling
Scent: Drakkar Noir
Quote: “”Fine,” He said with a weary shrug, “Make me your villain.” – Leigh Bardugo

What is Drakkar Noir you may be wondering? According to Wikipedia, it is a men’s fragrance by Guy Laroche created by perfumer Pierre Wargnye. (You’re welcome). Inspired by the Grisha Trilogy, the Darkling candle is a very sexy scent – more on the citrus side of floral. It’s SUPER POTENT – like ‘full-on-in-your-face-strong-no-jokes’. It reminds of a certain moonlit room in Shadow of Bone *wink*. I’m reading Ruin and Rising at the moment so this candle is the perfect companion!

img_5823

Candle No. 7 – Idris
Scent: Mountain Springs, Meadow Flowers and Grass
Quote: “The Law is hard. But it is the Law.” – Cassandra Clare

This candle smells like home. It’s got mild floral tones and gentle hints of fresh water streams (that’s my interpretation of the smell). It’s not grassy at all so do not worry. It’s definitely an outdoor candle, along with the freshness of daisies – it’s like you’re laying on the grass and reading your favourite book. Can’t go wrong with “Idris out of a jar” 🙂


That’s a wrap! I love these candles so much I cannot recommend The Melting Library enough! See any on your wishlist? Be sure to check out their store! (P.S.: They are having a sale right now!)

The Melting Library: https://themeltinglibrarystore.com 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Melting Library Candles

  1. I appreciate your review!!! They have quite a few reps but I don’t think any of them made a detailed review like this. Props to you! 👌 You have definitely convinced me to get The Darkling scent. I just have their Night Court candle and it smells so comforting. Lol. I want more in your face scent. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the comment – it means so much to me! And yay! I’m very glad to hear that – the Darkling candle is definitely worth it! I plan to get their Night Court one very soon 🙂 Again thank you for reading my review!

      Like

Leave a Reply

