Review: Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland (no spoilers)

I met Krystal at my local book launch last week and it was my first book event ever! I had a great chat with her about how I bought her book the day it came out and she was just a lovely soul! After finishing it in 3 sittings, I’ve decided since to put together a review for Our Chemical Hearts.

Synopsis:

John Green meets Rainbow Rowell in this irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again.
 
Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love that he’s been hoping for just hasn’t been in the cards for him—at least not yet. Instead, he’s been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything’s about to change.
 
Grace isn’t who Henry pictured as his dream girl—she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys’ clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It’s obvious there’s something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn’t your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland’s brilliant debut is equal parts wit and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

img_5698

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I haven’t read any contemporary novels lately but I HAD to pick up Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland – she is an author who was born and raised in my town! This book has taught me many things – though fundamental – but also very important.

With the beginning of the storyline, I fell in love with Henry Page’s narrative – he’s a funny, sarcastic and stands for his own opinion. The little remarks are so hilarious that got me laughing in public a few times while I was reading. Some parts of the book was pretty predictable – like the protagonist befriends the ‘group’ and there is ‘that chick’ of the school and so on. However, the story was still gripping and it was heartbreakingly unpredictable at times.

The author cleverly explored several themes which are considered ‘no no’ by many, as they deal with much darker topics such as death of a beloved and grief. The story was also beautifully written and the way the author presents the rawest of human psyche really sets this novel at a high level, especially in contemporary YA that focuses on very realistic problems in society.

The ending was brilliantly executed and it was so human and it simply felt ‘right’. I’ve personally learnt many little things about friendship, love and life – the novel made me think and reflect on my life and not many books do that!

I really enjoyed the colourful characters – and by watching them grow as the story goes on makes it even better. Our Chemical Hearts also has a strong focus on family and its importance – I loved all scenes which Henry’s family is involved!

I definitely recommend this great novel to anyone who are looking for a refreshing, funny yet bittersweet read! It gets heaps of emotions out of you! See ya next time! xxx

Leave a comment