Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Hello friends! I’m finally back! My first year of university has officially finished! I’ve read 2 books so far since my earned back my freedom and today I’ll be doing a review for Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo!

So first up, the synopsis:

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Grisha Trilogy has been on top of my TBR pile ever since I read Six of Crows earlier in the year. Deep down in me knows that I should have picked up these books ages ago but I was so caught up in school and never had the chance to… BUT I’M SO GLAD I DID!

When I read the blurb – I was already so excited to find out how Alina will stumble upon her Grisha powers and meeting the mysterious Darkling. How will their paths cross? Will there be fights? In dreams? A coincidence? Or the cliche you stare into my eyes and I’ll stare into yours kind of grand meeting? Nah nah nah none of that. More like “carriage rides gone really wrong and the very important person nearly got ran over by the other” way.

It took me only seconds to fall in love with Bardugo’s first person writing – from Alina Starkov’s perspective – which was so different to the alternating third person perspectives like in her Six of Crows duology. BUT I LOVE IT! ABOSULTELY LOVE IT (though I would love a glimpse of the Darkling’s perspective – well ‘love’ might be an understatement – more like ‘I-NEED-IT-NOW”)

I really enjoyed the dynamics between the Darkling and Alina and honestly any scenes that featured them both I loved. In my heart, I really don’t want to see the Darkling as the villain because let’s be honest – he’s one hella good looking lad and I just want to find out more about his dark, secretive character (one book isn’t obviously enough). But the way he treats SOME people really did grind my gears and yeah he just frustrates me sometimes/ most of the time.

And Mal!!! How amazing if someone as loyal and sweet as Mal exist (well around me anyways)! He would basically jump off cliff/ train/ knife – like legit die just for Alina *frantically fanning myself with my hand*. I also got the editions where extra material written from Mal’s perspective – and OH MY GOSH it was SO GOOD! If you haven’t read it – READ IT!!!!!

For now I’m keen to begin book 2 – Siege and Storm – very soon. And some stuff (other than Alina and Mal) which I want more of/ need finding out of: the Darkling, the pending war, the King, the creepy priest dude, Genya the goddess, Zoya (Oh don’t get me started on this little one) and the Darkling (I said it twice because I just want to make sure of this haha).

Sorry this is a really bad review – but I promise they will get better and better! I have no uni work now so I’ll be a lot more active on here! So bear with me!

Have you read Shadow of Bone yet? If so – how do you find it?

xxx

2 thoughts on “Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Your review was lovely! And I really needed it because I really want to read this series before I jump to the duology but I wasn’t sure if I’m going to like. But it seems to be a good book. I’m already thinking about placing an order on Bookdepository for the whole series. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I am going to read the third book very soon and I plan to review that too! I got my Grisha Trilogy from the Book Depository – I got the box set which comes with an exclusive Grishaverse map! And thank you for checking out my blog! 🙂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

