Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bargudo (Spoilers Free!)

(Hello there! This would be my very first book review so please bear with me!)

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo has been on the top of my ‘most anticipated book of 2016’ shelf ever since I finished Six of Crows a few months ago. The world of Six of Crows is crafted so spectacularly and I simply cannot suppress the love I have for this world. (Okay, since this is a review for Book 2, I assume y’all have read Six of Crows (book 1). If not, please STOP reading now! You have to read it because it’s so damn good and I would hate to ruin it for you!)

img_5013

The plot follows about one week after the crew is back to Ketterdam since their mission at the Ice Court (plus everything that happened on Vellgeluk). Kay Brekker aka Mr Dirtyhands, the Bastard of the Barrel, has been scheming his way to get his Wraith back. As you can recall that Inej Ghafa has been has been captured by Jan Van Erk’s flying group of drugged squallers, and Kaz is determined to get “his girl” back.

I would never stop talking about how much I love Kaz and Inej, and how brilliant is their friendship of trust. They are one of my favourite OTP and oh please, I mean how adorable are they! In Crooked Kingdom, I can tell you that a lot will happen and will push you to the edge of your seat at all times. It’ll be an emotional ride that is so worth reading! But I honestly can’t tell you much without spoiling it I AM SORRY! (So just expect a lot more interactions between the characters!) For the Kaz and Inej shippers – I really hope you enjoy their chapters and interactions as much as I did!

Unlike Six of Crows, Leigh has introduced Wylan Van Erk’s perspectives – which I absolutely loved! You will learn a lot more about Wylan’s past, thoughts and interactions with other characters especially with Jesper (*wink*). The merchling’s character develops to a whole new level in this book and his genius chemistry skills would come in very handy for the crew as the story unravels.

Okay, so let’s talk about our amazing Sharpshooter, Jesper Fahey. In this book, a SURPRISE  for Jesper will land in Ketterdam – could it be a message? A letter? a person? I’ll give you a hint – farmland. This surprise will change the whole game and I’m super excited for you to find out! You’ll find Jesper being the most hilarious character to read and his witty remarks always have you laughing. At the beginning of the book, Jesper is still recovering from the guilt of nearly sending the whole crew six feet under. But as the plot develops, things do change for the better and you can definitely expect LOADS of interaction between him and Wylan.

Heartrender Nina Zenik and Fjerdan Matthias Helvar are such a cute couple. Initially in the book, Nina is still struggling with her health since taking the parem – and thankfully, Matthias is here for her and providing all the help that she needs in order to combat her desire for the drug. (There’s so much that I want to write about the pair but it will give away too much so I won’t do that!) There are going to be ups and downs for this pair and hearts will be broken and melted – so I hope you love the book regardless.

grisha-mapThere’ll be the introduction of Kuwei and a couple of new (and old) characters from the Grisha Trilogy.

This book is a roller-coaster ride from start to finish. I was overwhelmed by how beautifully this book was crafted and the aspects of human psyche Leigh has cleverly explored and employed to this glorious novel.  All the raw human emotions: sadness, greed, joy, guilt, anger, jealousy – is there and written so vividly that leaves your skin tingling.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ (…)

THAT’S HOW GOOD IT IS!!!

So please go ahead and read it so we can discuss it together!

5 thoughts on “Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bargudo (Spoilers Free!)

Leave a Reply

